Joey LaLeggia


Oilers have reportedly avoided salary arbitration with Joey LaLeggia

1 Comment

The Edmonton Oilers have reportedly avoided salary arbitration with Joey LaLeggia, as the two sides agreed to a one-year, two-way deal that would pay him $700,000 at the NHL level.

LaLeggia was Edmonton’s fifth-round pick in 2012, but after three years in the AHL he still hasn’t suited up in an NHL game yet.

The former University of Denver standout had 20 goals, 38 points and 30 penalty minutes in 67 games with AHL Bakersfield in 2016-17.

Interestingly enough, the Oilers moved him from defense to wing mid-way through last season. We’ll see if the position change helps him make the leap to the NHL in 2017-18.

“If I can play in the NHL as a winger, to me, that’s the same as playing in the NHL as a defenseman,” the 25-year-old told the Oilers’ website in March. “That’s my goal and I’m not going to give up, I’m going to keep trying to get better. Keep trying to prove myself wherever I’m playing.

“Doesn’t matter where I’m playing, I just want to make that happen.”


Key players from Penguins, Sabres, Lightning headline salary arbitration list

Key players from Penguins, Sabres, Lightning headline salary arbitration list


The NHLPA released a list of players who are filing for salary arbitration during this off-season on Wednesday.

It’s important to note that arbitration hearings rarely happen, and with good reason, as they can be harsh situations that may lead to hard feelings between a player and his team. Hearings take place July 20-Aug. 2, with a 48-hour window for verdicts to be made.

Also, the deadline for club-elected salary arbitration is set for tomorrow (July 6) at 5 p.m. ET.

Another key note: offer sheets are not an option for players who file for arbitration. Now, onto the list, which began with 30 players and is now down to 28:

TORONTO (July 5, 2017) – Thirty players have elected Salary Arbitration:

Arizona Coyotes

Jordan Martinook

Boston Bruins

Ryan Spooner

Buffalo Sabres

Nathan Beaulieu

Johan Larsson

Robin Lehner

Calgary Flames

Micheal Ferland

Colorado Avalanche

Matt Nieto

Detroit Red Wings

Tomas Tatar

Edmonton Oilers

Joey LaLeggia

Los Angeles Kings

Kevin Gravel

Minnesota Wild

Mikael Granlund

Nino Niederreiter

Montreal Canadiens

Alex Galchenyuk (signed for three years; more on that here)

Nashville Predators

Viktor Arvidsson

Marek Mazanec

Austin Watson

New York Islanders

Calvin de Haan

New York Rangers

Jesper Fast (signed, read about the deal here)

Mika Zibanejad

Ottawa Senators

Ryan Dzingel

Jean-Gabriel Pageau

Pittsburgh Penguins

Brian Dumoulin

Conor Sheary

St. Louis Blues

Colton Parayko

Tampa Bay Lightning

Tyler Johnson

Ondrej Palat

Vancouver Canucks

Reid Boucher

Michael Chaput

Vegas Golden Knights

Nate Schmidt

Winnipeg Jets

Connor Hellebuyck