Goaltender David Leggio knocks own net off again to avoid breakaway (Video)

Telekom Sport / Facebook
20 Comments

It is my duty to inform you all that goaltender David Leggio is at it again.

You might remember Leggio for one of two things. First, he does a wicked good Pierre McGuire impression. Really. It’s quite accurate.

Secondly, it was three years ago that Leggio, then with the American Hockey League’s Bridgeport Sound Tigers, ended an opponents’ 2-on-0 in unique fashion. Rather than attempt to stop the odd-man rush with a save, he simply turned around and purposely dislodged his own net, stopping play.

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WwFIiXBt36U%5D

The Springfield Falcons were awarded a penalty shot, which Leggio stopped. Simple math, right? A 1-on-0 is better than a 2-on-0.

The defensive technique wasn’t lost on Leggio Friday night as he played for EHC Red Bull München of the Deutsche Eishockey Liga during a 5-2 win over the Fischtown Pinguins.

As Ross Mauermann skated in on a breakaway, Leggio, whose teammates were well-aware of his previous manner of defusing an odd-man rush, did it again.

When it happened in the AHL, the league quickly moved to tweak the rule in place and make it so a game misconduct was given to any goaltender who tried to pull a Leggio. The DEL currently has no such rule, but you can bet that’s going to be discussed very soon.

————

Sean Leahy is a writer for Pro Hockey Talk on NBC Sports. Drop him a line at phtblog@nbcsports.com or follow him on Twitter @Sean_Leahy.