Bobrovsky wins second Vezina Trophy with Blue Jackets (video)


Columbus Blue Jackets goalie Sergei Bobrovsky won the 2017 Vezina Trophy, edging Braden Holtby (Washington Capitals), and Carey Price (Montreal Canadiens).

This is the second time Bobrovsky’s won the Vezina, grabbing both as a member of the Blue Jackets.

Bobrovsky generated a career-high with 41 wins in 2016-17, managing a .931 save percentage. That was just short of the .932 mark he managed in the lockout-shortened 2012-13 campaign, when he won his first Vezina.

Injuries and other stumbles came between these Vezina wins, yet the overall picture is that Bob is a difference-maker for Columbus.

Now he just needs to translate that great work into productivity in the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Here are the voting results.

2016-2017 Vezina Trophy Voting

Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd)
1. Sergei Bobrovsky, CBJ 138 (25-4-1)
2. Braden Holtby, WSH 87 (4-21-4)
3. Carey Price, MTL 19 (0-2-13)
4. Cam Talbot, EDM 17 (1-2-6)
5. Devan Dubnyk, MIN 8 (0-1-5)
6. Martin Jones, SJS 1 (0-0-1)

Click here for a full history of Vezina winners.