NHL GM of the Year finalists: Oilers’ Chiarelli, Sens’ Dorion, Preds’ Poile


The NHL announced the three finalists for GM of the Year on Tuesday: Peter Chiarelli (Edmonton Oilers), Pierre Dorion (Ottawa Senators) and David Poile (Nashville Predators).

This marks Dorion’s first season of Senators GM, so naturally it’s his first time being a finalist. It’s also the first time for Chiarelli to be a nominee. Poile, meanwhile, earns his fourth nomination.

Here’s how the finalists are determined, via the NHL:

Voting for this award was conducted among the NHL general managers and a panel of league executives, print and broadcast media at the conclusion of the Second Round of the 2017 Stanley Cup Playoffs.

In case you’re wondering, here are previous winners of the GM award.

2016: Jim Rutherford
2015: Steve Yzerman
2014: Bob Murray
2013: Ray Shero
2012: Doug Armstrong
2011: Mike Gillis
2010: Don Maloney