Whoa, Vigneault really roasted the NHL after failed challenge

Getty
16 Comments

It’s one thing for Rangers head coach Alain Vigneault to deem the 3-3 goal from Thursday’s game against the Hurricanes as “the wrong call” (which he did). Eyebrows might raise due to the way he said it, though.

“Ask the league, they’re going to spin it anyway so they look alright and that’s the way it always is,” Vigneault said, according to Newsday’s Steve Zipay.

Well, wow.

The 3-3 goal was the first of two third-period power-play goals for Sebastian Aho, who’s become quite the story in hitting 20 goals as a rookie. The league’s Situation Room blog provided the following explanation of a goal you can see below:

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Referee confirmed no goaltender interference infractions occurred before the puck crossed the goal line.

(Bolded by the league.)

The league explanation was short on details, while Vigneault got more specific with his gripes:

Could a fine be coming for AV?

However he feels, the Rangers lost in regulation, hurting their chances of winning the three-time slugfest for the second and third spots in the Metro with the Penguins and Blue Jackets.