NHL On NBC: The 2017 NHL All-Star Game


The NHL’s best are on display in Los Angeles on Sunday afternoon for the 2017 NHL All-Star Game.

You can catch all of the action live on NBC at 3:30 p.m. ET, or via our live stream which can be found right here.

For the second year in a row the game will be played using the 3-on-3 tournament format that has the four divisions going up against one another in a series of 20-minute mini-game.

In the first game, the Central Division, led by team captain P.K. Subban and coach Bruce Boudreau, will take on the Pacific Division headlined by Edmonton Oilers forward and NHL leading scorer Connor McDavid and San Jose Sharks coach Peter DeBoer.

The winner of that game will advance to the championship game where it will face the winner of the Metropolitan Division vs. Atlantic Division game. The Metropolitan Division is led by Pittsburgh Penguins forward Sidney Crosby and will be coached by the NHL’s all-time leading scorer, Wayne Gretzky. The Metropolitan Division team was supposed to be coached by John Tortorella but he had to bow out of the game late this week due to the failing health of a family dog. The NHL announced on Saturday that Gretzky, who spent seven-and-a-half years of his playing career in Los Angeles as a member of the Kings, will take his place.

On Friday night he was one of the players honored as one of the Top 100 players in league history, along with Crosby and Washington Capitals forward Alex Ovechkin, two his players for the game on Sunday.

The Atlantic Division team is captained by Montreal Canadiens goalie Carey Price and will be coached by Michel Therrien.

The 2016 Game, which introduced the 3-on-3 tournament following the popularity of the NHL’s new overtime format, was one of the more successful games in recent memory. It featured 23 goals between the three mini-games with the Pacific Division team, led by captain and game MVP John Scott, winning the championship game 1-0 over the Atlantic Division.

More: Atlantic Division takes NHL Skills Competition

Shea Weber wins third consecutive hardest shot contest

McDavid can not beat Larkin’s fastest skater record