P.K. Subban takes over All-Star vote lead in Central Division


The second week of the NHL All-Star fan vote produced a change on the leaderboard with Nashville Predators defenseman P.K. Subban taking over the lead in the Central Division, passing Chicago Blackhawks forward Patrick Kane.

Subban, playing in his first season with the Predators following the blockbuster trade from Montreal over the summer, has seven goals and 10 assists on the season and has already topped his goal total from all of last season (in 41 fewer games). Performance aside, Subban is a fan favorite across the league, one of the NHL’s most entertaining stars, and is pretty much what the All-Star game is supposed to be about.

His move to the top is the only change among the top vote getters in each division. In the Atlantic Division, Canadiens goalie Carey Price maintains his lead over Jaromir Jagr, while Sidney Crosby and Connor McDavid continue to lead the Metropolitan and Pacific Divisions respectively.

Elsewhere in the voting…

Winnipeg Jets rookie Patrik Laine from fourth place to third place in the Central, moving ahead of Blackhawks center Jonathan Toews, while Patrice Bergeron and Jack Eichel flipped spots (with Bergeron moving from fifth to fourth) in the Atlantic.

Philadelphia Flyers Wayne Simmonds joined the leaders in the Metropolitan Division, moving ahead of New Jersey Devils winger Taylor Hall in the fifth spot.

The 2017 NHL All-Star game will take place in Los Angeles on Jan. 29 and will feature All-Star teams representing each division playing in a 3-on-3 tournament of mini-games.

Here are the top-five vote getters for each division as of Tuesday.

1. Carey Price, Montreal
2. Jaromir Jagr, Florida
3. Shea Weber, Montreal
4. Patrice Bergeron, Boston
5. Jack Eichel, Buffalo

1. P.K. Subban, Nashville
2. Patrick Kane, Chicago
3. Patrik Laine, Winnipeg
4. Jonathan Toews, Chicago
5. Vladimir Tarasenko, St. Louis

1. Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh
2. Alex Ovechkin, Washington
3. Phil Kessel, Pittsburgh
4. John Tavares, NY Islanders
5. Wayne Simmonds, Philadelphia

1. Connor McDavid, Edmonton
2. Brent Burns, San Jose
3. Johnny Gaudreau, Calgary
4. Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles
5. Joe Thornton, San Jose

Scroll Down For: