Jets ‘deeply disappointed’ Hull won’t attend Hall of Fame ceremony


In October the Winnipeg Jets will be honoring the first three members of their team Hall of Fame. The inductees in that initial class will include Bobby Hull, Anders Hedberg and Ulf Nilsson, the members of “The Hot Line” that helped the WHA’s Jets win championships in 1976 and 1978.

On Friday, the Jets announced in a team statement they are “deeply disappointed” Hull will not be attending the ceremony.

Here is the complete statement from the team:

“We have been informed Mr. Hull will not be attending our inaugural Hall of Fame induction ceremony for personal reasons. The Winnipeg Jets Hall of Fame was created to acknowledge the rich history of our team which began with the World Hockey Association and quickly reached international significance through the achievements of the Hotline. Accordingly, we are deeply disappointed that Mr. Hull has declined our invitation to join his teammates, Anders Hedberg and Ulf Nilsson when we honour their collective accomplishments on October 19th and 20th.”

Hull also offered a brief statement.

“It’s a true honour to be inducted into the Winnipeg Jets Hall of Fame alongside my former linemates, and friends, Anders Hedberg and Ulf Nilsson. While I will not be in attendance for the celebration, I want to thank the Jets for the special recognition and the wonderful fans of Winnipeg for all of their support throughout the years.”

Hull spent parts of eight seasons in Winnipeg, seven of which came during the team’s WHA days.

That, of course, was as a member of the Jets organization that is now playing in Arizona.

This current Jets organization has no affiliation to that teams having moved to Winnipeg from Atlanta prior to the 2011-12 season.