The 2018 Olympic hockey field is set: Slovenia, Norway and Germany qualify

1 Comment

The final three spots for the 2018 Olympic Hockey tournament in Pyeongchang, South Korea were filled on Sunday when Germany, Slovenia and Norway all clinched spots with their victories in the Olympic qualifying tournament.

Slovenia and Norway both competed in the 2014 Sochi games while Germany last participated in the 2010 games in Vancouver.

Norway, thanks to a goal from New York Rangers forward Mats Zuccarello, clinched its spot on Sunday with a 2-1 win over France, while Slovenia, led by Los Angeles Kings star forward Anze Kopitar, defeated Belarus 3-2.

Slovenia had a surprisingly strong showing at the 2014 Olympics, reaching the quarterfinals of the tournament with wins over Slovakia and Austria.

Germany clinched its spot on Sunday with a 3-2 win over Latvia thanks to a late goal from Pittsburgh Penguins forward Tom Kuhnhackl.

With the teams now settled, the final groupings for the 2018 tournament are as follows:

Group A: Canada, Czech Republic, Switzerland, South Korea

Group B: United States, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia

Group C: Sweden, Finland, Germany, Norway

With Germany and South Korea (as the host nation) joining the field, Latvia and Austria are the two countries from 2014 that are not returning.

Now that we know which countries will be participating, we just have to find out who will actually be playing for them. The NHL has participated in every Olympics since the 1998 games in Nagano, Japan, but their participation in the 2018 games remains in doubt.