Barrie, Schwartz, Kreider among 24 players to elect arbitration


On Tuesday, the NHLPA announced that 24 players have elected salary arbitration, with their hearings to be held in Toronto from July 20 to August 4.

Among the notables?

Well, Colorado’s prized offensive d-man Tyson Barrie is one. Avs GM Joe Sakic recently shot down trade rumors regarding the 24-year-old, who has been one of the league’s better offensive blueliners over the last two years, racking up 53 points last season and 49 this season.

Barrie just wrapped a two-year, $5.2 million deal — one that paid $2.6M annually — and figures to be in line for a hefty raise.

Another situation to monitor is Jaden Schwartz in St. Louis. Having hit the 25-goal mark in two of his last three seasons, Schwartz has never been through arbitration before but, in 2014, sat out the early part of the Blues’ training camp while hammering out a new deal.

The two sides eventually agreed to a two-year, $4.7 million extension.

In New York, power forward Chris Kreider has filed for arbitration for the second time in his career. The last time, back in ’14, the two sides avoided going to a hearing by agreeing to a two-year deal with an AAV of $2.475M.

Kreider, 25, has notched back-to-back 21-goal campaigns, breaking the 40-point plateau in each.

Other cases worth watching include Alex Killorn in Tampa Bay, Mike Hoffman in Ottawa and Kyle Palmieri in New Jersey. Hoffman and Palmieri are two of the better young goalscorers going — Hoffman had 29 last season, Palmieri had 30 — and Killorn, a quality postseason performer, will need to fit under a pretty tight salary cap in Tampa Bay, given fellow forwards Nikita Kucherov and Vladislav Namestnikov also need new contracts.

Here’s the full list of arbitration filings:

Arizona Coyotes
Michael Stone

Colorado Avalanche
Tyson Barrie
Mikhail Grigorenko

Detroit Red Wings
Jared Coreau
Danny DeKeyser

Minnesota Wild
Jordan Schroeder

Nashville Predators
Calle Jarnkrok
Petter Granberg

New York Rangers
Kevin Hayes
Chris Kreider
Dylan McIlrath
Jonathan Miller

New Jersey Devils
Kyle Palmieri

Ottawa Senators
Mike Hoffman

Philadelphia Flyers
Brandon Manning
Brayden Schenn
Jordan Weal

St. Louis Blues
Jaden Schwartz

Tampa Bay Lightning
Alex Killorn
Vladislav Namestnikov

Toronto Maple Leafs
Frank Corrado
Peter Holland
Martin Marincin

Washington Capitals
Marcus Johansson