After winning Stanley Cup, Penguins’ Rutherford named GM of the Year


Penn & Teller* are known for working magic, so it only makes sense for them to pass along the award for the executive who had the most tricks up his sleeves in 2015-16.

Pittsburgh Penguins GM Jim Rutherford won 2016 GM of the Year, edging Brian MacLellan of the Washington Capitals and Jim Nill of the Dallas Stars.

Rutherford made the crucial move to replace Mike Johnston with Mike Sullivan, whose coaching style really meshed with the Penguins. He also made a series of shrewd trades, which you can read about here.

In case you’re wondering, NHL general managers cast the votes for this award. Here’s how said voting shook out:

2015-2016 NHL General Manager of the Year Award Voting

Pts. (1st-2nd-3rd)
1. Jim Rutherford, PIT 90 (10-12-4)
2. Brian MacLellan, WSH 56 (6-7-5)
3. Jim Nill, DAL 55 (7-3-11)
4. Dale Tallon, FLA 50 (7-3-6)
5. Doug Armstrong, STL 39 (4-5-4)
6. Doug Wilson, SJS 38 (3-7-2)
7. Steve Yzerman, TBL 17 (2-1-4)
8. Stan Bowman, CHI 10 (1-1-2)
9. Ron Hextall, PHI 3 (0-1-0)
10. Don Maloney, ARI 1 (0-0-1)
Bob Murray, ANA 1 (0-0-1)

NHL General Manager of the Year Award Winners

Year Winner Team
2016 Jim Rutherford Pittsburgh
2015 Steve Yzerman Tampa Bay
2014 Bob Murray Anaheim
2013 Ray Shero Pittsburgh
2012 Doug Armstrong St. Louis
2011 Mike Gillis Vancouver
2010 Don Maloney Phoenix

* – Anyone else still taken aback by Penn’s weight loss?