Video: Sidney Crosby awarded Conn Smythe Trophy


SAN JOSE — Sidney Crosby is the MVP of the playoffs. The Penguins captain hoisted the Conn Smythe Trophy after a two-assist performance in the deciding game of the Stanley Cup Final, a 3-1 Pittsburgh victory over the Sharks tonight at SAP Center.

Crosby finished the postseason with 19 points in 24 games. He was consistently superb throughout the playoffs. But this wasn’t a slam dunk like last year when Duncan Keith won MVP honors with the Blackhawks.

Phil Kessel led the Penguins with 22 points. Rookie Matt Murray was excellent in goal, save for a couple of shaky performances. Kris Letang and even Nick Bonino made strong cases as well.

That multiple Penguins could be considered for the award is testament to their evolution into a team that didn’t always need its two superstars, Crosby and Evgeni Malkin, to hit the scoresheet every night.

Malkin was awarded the Conn Smythe when the Penguins last won in 2009.

Mario Lemieux received it both times in 1991 and 1992.