As you can see in the video at the top of the page, it seems like the hit came a few seconds after Bellemare got rid of the puck. A reminder that a hit is considered late (by NHL standards) 0.6 seconds after a player gets rid of the puck.
Boll was given a five-minute major for interference and a game misconduct for the hit. The Flyers didn’t benefit from a power play right away because Ryan White was giving a two-minute roughing penalty for going after Boll.
It’s safe to say Torts didn’t agree with the call (surprise, surprise).
Here’s what the NHL rule book has to say about game misconducts for interference:
56.4 Major Penalty – The Referee, at his discretion, may assess a major penalty, based on the degree of violence, to a player guilty of interfering with an opponent (see 56.5).
56.5 Game Misconduct Penalty – When a major penalty is imposed under this rule for a foul resulting in an injury of an opponent, a game misconduct shall be imposed.
Bellemare went to the Flyers room, but did come back a few minutes later.
Some Twitter reaction: