Vesey, Connor, and Demko among the 10 Hobey Baker finalists


The Hobey Baker Award committee has announced the 10 finalists to be named college hockey’s top player for 2016.

They are, in alphabetical order:

— J.T. Compher, Michigan (Colorado Avalanche)
— Kyle Connor, Michigan (Winnipeg Jets)
— Thatcher Demko, Boston College (Vancouver Canucks)
— Zac Lynch, Robert Morris (undrafted)
— Alex Lyon, Yale (undrafted)
— Tyler Motte, Michigan (Chicago Blackhawks)
— Alex Petan, Michigan Tech (undrafted)
— Andrew Poturalski, New Hampshire (undrafted, signed by Carolina)
— Ethan Prow, St. Cloud State (undrafted)
— Jimmy Vesey, Harvard (Nashville Predators)

The selection committee is now tasked with narrowing the list from 10 to three, a.k.a. the Hobey Hat Trick, to be announced March 31.

The winner will be announced Apr. 8 during the Frozen Four in Tampa.

Last year, Jack Eichel won the award. The year before, it was Johnny Gaudreau.


Preds believe Vesey could ‘come in and play right away’

Demko focused on winning a title with Boston College, will talk with Canucks this summer

Connor wins USHL Player of the Year

Scroll Down For: