Some controversy in the Blues-Lightning game on Sunday night.
With the Blues leading 1-0 in the third period, St. Louis’ Patrik Berglund scored by directing a puck into the goal with his skate (above).
The initial call on the ice was no goal, but after review, the call was overturned.
Less than two minutes after Berglund was credited with the goal, Lightning forward Nikita Kucherov cut the lead to 2-1.
That’s as close as the Bolts would get to tying the game.
Here’s how the NHL’s Situation Room blog explained their decision:
At 17:41 of the third period in the Blues/Lightning game, video review determined that the puck deflected off of Patrik Berglund’s skate and entered the Tampa Bay net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 49.2″A puck that deflects into the net off an attacking player’s skate who does not use a distinct kicking motion is a legitimate goal.” Good goal St. Louis.
The Lightning weren’t impressed with the decision:
Do you agree with the decision?