Video: Panthers wipe out Sharks goal with successful offside challenge

1 Comment

It looked as though Joonas Donskoi had given San Jose a 4-2 lead over Florida late in the second period of tonight’s game at the SAP Center.

But Gerard Gallant had other ideas.

The Panthers head coach orchestrated a successful coach’s challenge, correctly noting that Sharks center Joe Thornton had gone offside prior to Donskoi scoring.

From the NHL’s Situation Room blog:

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with NHL Hockey Operations staff, the Linesman determined that San Jose’s Joe Thornton was off-side prior to the goal.

According to Rule 78.7, “The standard for overturning the call in the event of a ‘GOAL’ call on the ice is that the Linesman, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Toronto Video Room, determines that one or more Players on the attacking team preceded the puck into the attacking zone prior to the goal being scored and that, as a result, the play should have been stopped for an “Off-side” infraction; where this standard is met, the goal will be disallowed.”

Therefore the original call is overturned – no goal San Jose Sharks.

The clock is re-set to show 2:46 (17:14 elapsed time), when the off-side infraction occurred.

Gallant has been pretty active with the coach’s challenge this season. He had a successful one early in the season to overturn a disallowed goal for goalie interference, but then lost one against Washington on Oct. 31.