Video: Burrows scores NHL’s first penalty shot goal of the year

1 Comment

Lucky number seven.

Prior to tonight, there had been six penalty shots taken in the NHL this season — none of them successful. So it was fitting that on the seventh of the season, Vancouver’s Alex Burrows made good, beating Dallas’ Antti Niemi to give the Canucks an early 1-0 lead.

The penalty shot was Vancouver’s first of the season, and the first in a long time as the club wasn’t awarded one during the ’14-15 campaign. It was also the first successful attempt of Burrows’ career, having gone 0-for-4 on his previous efforts.

Oh, and in case you’re curious? The six missed attempts league-wide this season came from John Tavares, Claude Giroux, Patrick Marleau, Mikhail Grabovski, Scott Laughton and Rick Nash.