Roy explains why he didn’t call time out

2 Comments

Why didn’t Colorado coach Patrick Roy call timeout at some point during the Minnesota Wild’s four-goals-in-5:07 outburst last night in Denver?

A new NHL rule was a factor in his thinking.

“I was thinking about it, I won’t lie to you,” Roy said after his Avalanche blew a three-goal lead in the third period and lost 5-4.

“My only problem is, if I use my timeout I lose my challenge. Then if something happens and it’s a goal, then we cannot make any challenge, that’s the reason I did not do it.”

Before anyone jumps down his throat for saving something he’s unlikely to need, there was another factor, too.

“The other reason why  I didn’t do it was we had two TV timeouts, back to back,” he said. “We regrouped. We had time to talk. How long do we need? We had 45 seconds two times in a row before they scored I think the third and the fourth goal. We talked even after the fifth goal.”

As you can see, they did…talk.

The Avs are back in action Saturday versus Dallas.