Akeson avoids supplemental discipline for hit on Greening


Buffalo’s Jason Akeson will not be punished for his hit on Ottawa’s Colin Greening.

“Akeson’s skates are on the ice at impact, so the hit was not a charging violation,” the NHL’s Department of Player Safety determined.

“And while there was some head contact, we deemed it was unavoidable under Rule 48.1(ii).”

Greening reportedly “left the ice on wobbly legs” after the second-period collision on Wednesday night. Ottawa’s Travis Ewanyk reacted by instigating a fight with Akeson.

No penalty was assessed for the hit.