‘Hawks, Rangers among eight teams to play for Detroit’s Matthew Wuest Memorial Cup

1 Comment

The Red Wings have unveiled which teams will be competing for the first-ever Matthew Wuest Memorial Cup.

The Hurricanes, Blackhawks, Blue Jackets, Stars, Wild, Rangers and Blues will send their prospects to Traverse City starting on Sept. 11, to participate in an eight-team tourney — one that will culminate with the awarding of the Cup named after CapGeek founder Matthew Wuest, who passed away in March after a two-year battle with colon cancer.


The tournament will divide the participating teams into two four-team divisions: the Gordie Howe Division (Carolina, Chicago, Dallas and Detroit) and the Ted Lindsay Division (Columbus, Minnesota, NY Rangers and St. Louis).

Teams will play each opponent in their division in a round-robin format before a crossover on the final day of the tournament, capped off with the first-place finishers in each division meeting for the Matthew Wuest Memorial Cup on Tuesday, Sept. 15.

This year will mark the 17th time the tournament has been played in Traverse City. In addition to his work with CapGeek, Wuest developed and maintained the now-defunct RedWingsCentral site, which played a key role in covering the early days of the event.