Vigneault: Referees ‘missed’ questionable Prust hit on Stepan

29 Comments

Alain Vigneault wasn’t pleased with one incident involving Montreal Canadiens forward Brandon Prust that the New York Rangers coach believes triggered a later incident involving his own player, Daniel Carcillo.

Prust threw a questionable hit on Rangers forward Derek Stepan – the hit appeared late and high – early in the first period but didn’t receive a penalty on the play.

New York’s players took exception, and targeted Prust a few minutes later.

Carcillo was given a minor penalty for charging after he hit Prust behind the Montreal net, but was given a game misconduct for an incident involving a linesman when a fight broke out between Prust and Derek Dorsett.

As per TSN’s Darren Dreger, officials were going to review the incident involving Carcillo and that he could face a suspension.

“Yeah, we looked at it they missed it,” Vigneault said of the Prust hit on Stepan, then expanding on the Carcillo incident.

“Well, he can’t do that, obviously, what he did there, but we’ll let the league handle that. I believe if a penalty would have been called on Prust, it probably wouldn’t have happened, but there is nothing we can do about it.”

Habs coach Michel Therrien simply said afterward that he was not concerned the league may review the Prust hit.

“It was a bad hit,” Stepan told Katie Strang of ESPN. “I would certainly hope the league looks at it.”