Video: Quick robs Marleau with a glove save

11 Comments

In order to win Game 7 and avoid losing four straight games to fall to the L.A. Kings in this opening-round series, the San Jose Sharks were going to have find ways to beat goalie Jonathan Quick.

Easier said than done, of course. Just ask Patrick Marleau, who was absolutely robbed of what looked to be a sure goal in the second period and with San Jose on a power play looking for another go-ahead marker. The play was reviewed, but there was no goal. Had the play been called a goal, it would surely have come with controversy, considering it appeared Sharks’ forward Joe Pavelski knocked the puck over to Marleau with his right glove.

From the NHL’s Situation Room blog:

At 9:28 of the second period in the Los Angeles Kings/San Jose Sharks game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Los Angeles net. The Situation Room confirmed the referee’s call on the ice that Patrick Marleau’s shot was stopped by goaltender Jonathan Quick and that the puck never crossed the Kings’ goal line. No goal San Jose.