McLellan: Sharks got ‘cheated’ on game-winning goal

56 Comments

Following Monday’s 4-1 loss to Los Angeles, the San Jose Sharks wasted little time in sharing their thoughts on Justin Williams’ game-winning goal.

Here’s the video:

Following the game, former NHL referee and current TSN analyst Kerry Fraser explained that he would’ve disallowed the goal based on rule 69.6, which deals with loose pucks and rebounds.

The rule reads like this:

In the event that a goalkeeper has been pushed into the net together with the puck by an attacking player after making a stop, the goal will be disallowed.

If applicable, appropriate penalties will be assessed. In the event that the puck is under a player in or around the crease area (deliberately or otherwise), a goal cannot be scored by pushing this player together with the puck into the goal.

Fraser’s explanation?

Interesting debate, but a moot one as both teams are already looking ahead to Game 7. It’ll go on Wednesday in San Jose, at 10 p.m. ET on NBCSN.