NHL Awards headed back to Vegas

After a temporary hiatus, the NHL Awards are returning to Sin City.

On Monday, the league announced that its annual ceremony will go live from the Encore at Wynn Las Vegas on Tuesday, June 24 — marking a return to Nevada for the first time since 2012. The ’13 Awards were unable to be presented in Las Vegas due to the lockout and subsequent longer postseason, as well as a lack of available dates in June.

Per the NHL, the ’14 Awards will be hosted by George Stroumboulopoulos, who was recently named the new host of the NHL on Rogers and Hockey Night in Canada. The league also announced it would roll out finalists for said awards this week, beginning with the Lady Byng nominees on Tuesday.

As for the remaining schedule…

Wednesday, April 23
Calder Trophy (top rookie)

Thursday, April 24
Selke Trophy (forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game)

Friday, April 25
Vezina Trophy (top goaltender)

Monday, April 28
Norris Trophy (top defenseman)

Tuesday, April 29
Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone

Wednesday, April 30
Masterton Trophy (perseverance and dedication to hockey)

Thursday, May 1
Hart Trophy (most valuable player to his team)

Friday, May 2
NHL Foundation Player Award (community service)

Monday, May 5
Ted Lindsay Award (most outstanding player as voted by the players)

Tuesday, May 6
Jack Adams Award (top head coach)

Three trophies have already been won: Alex Ovechkin captured the Rocket Richard as the league’s top goalscorer, Sidney Crosby won the Art Ross as the leading scorer while Jonathan Quick captured the Jennings as the goalie who plays at least 25 games while allowing the fewest goals.

Scroll Down For: