Report: NHL apologizes to Panthers for blown goalie interference call

15 Comments

The NHL has apologized to the Florida organization for a blown interference call during Thursday’s loss in Phoenix, the Sun-Sentinel reports:

Coyotes forward Mikkel Boedker trampled Panthers goalie Roberto Luongo before Antoine Vermette poked the puck into a vacated net for what turned out to be the game-winning goal in Phoenix’s 2-1 victory late Thursday night.

The referee raised his hand as if he was calling the penalty, but Panthers coach Peter Horachek was told the infraction was going to be on Panthers defenseman Dylan Olsen, who was dragged down by Vermette and onto Luongo in a heap.

A furious Luongo argued the non-call to no avail.

After the game, a Panthers source told the Sun Sentinel that the referee admitted to the on-site NHL referee supervisor that he, “missed the call.”

Another Panthers source said on Friday that the league sent out an apology for the blown call via e-mail.

Here’s the play in question:

“You don’t have the ability to look at video for that situation it makes it hard from that side of the net, but obviously, not the right call,” Panthers head coach Peter Horachek said after the game. “It should’ve been interference, that goal should come back and makes it 1-1.”