Russians claim Quick dislodged net on disallowed goal (w/video)


What would a classic hockey game be without a little controversy?

Following a dramatic 3-2 shootout loss to the Americans on Friday, Russian players spoke about the disallowed goal call late in the third period that nullified what would’ve been a crucial Russian lead.

Video: Referees wave off Fedor Tyutin goal

“Nobody touched the net,” Alex Ovechkin said, per the Chicago Sun-Times. “The goalie touched the net and pulled it out. But the referee didn’t give him two minutes.”

Miss the game? Watch OT and the shootout at 8 pm ET on NBC

“The goalie” in question is Jonathan Quick, who was unable to stop Tyutin’s point shot with 4:40 left in the third period. But the Americans caught a break when replay showed Quick’s goal was off its moorings — and that’s where it gets interesting. According to Russian defenseman Slava Voynov, a teammate of Quick’s in Los Angeles, the American goalie has reputation for dislodging his own net.

Here’s an overhead image of the dislodged goal:

source: Getty Images

And here’s more from Helene Elliott of the L.A. Times:

In related news, American head coach Dan Bylsma praised Quick for his “exceptional” play against Russia — Quick stopped 29 of 31 shots in regulation/OT and five of eight shootout attempts — but did leave the door open for Ryan Miller to play against Slovenia in the final preliminary round game.