Kronwall: My goal shouldn’t have counted

46 Comments

The Red Wings caught a huge break when defenseman Niklas Kronwall was credited with the game-tying goal with just 26.1 remaining in the third period after the puck appeared to go out of play. That led to Detroit earning a 3-2 shootout victory over Los Angeles.

After the contest Kings coach Darryl Sutter used the word “embarrassing” five times while describing the good goal call.

It looks like even Kronwall himself isn’t in the mood to defend it.

“It shouldn’t have counted,” Kronwall admitted to the Detroit Free Press, although he also said that it was a break that he’ll take as Detroit tries to claw its way back into a Wild Card spot.

You can judge the play for yourself below:

That prevented the Red Wings’ losing streak from extending to a third game, which has to come as a big relief for them given that their next two opponents are the st. Louis Blues and Chicago Blackhawks.