Hall questions if refs changed call over jumbotron replay

3 Comments

Edmonton Oilers forward Sam Gagner got a five-minute major and game misconduct for cross-checking the Avalanche’s Paul Stastny in the first period of Thursday’s contest in Colorado.

Taylor Hall didn’t have a problem with that level of punishment itself, but he felt that Gagner’s penalty was increased from a two-minute minor after the incident was replayed on the Pepsi Center’s jumbotron.

“I was just questioning the fact that they could change their call,” Hall said, according to the Edmonton Sun.

“(The incident) didn’t look great, it maybe should have been a five to start it off, I was just questioning why they could change it like that.”

Hall also ended up with an unsportsmanlike conduct at the end of the first period, forcing the team to start the second frame with a 5-on-3 disadvantage. Oilers coach Dallas Eakins went to talk to the referees after the first intermission.

He claims he “was basically told by the ref to … I can’t say what he said to me.”

Colorado ended up scoring with the two-man advantage, but that’s not what completely sank the Oilers. The ultimately fatal blow came towards the end of the period after Colorado’s Patrick Bordeleau got tagged for interference and the Oilers responded by allowing their league-worst eighth shorthanded goal.