Notes on NBC’s Olympic hockey coverage

6 Comments

Some excerpts from a press release about NBC’s coverage of the upcoming Winter Olympics in Sochi, Russia:

NBC will present coverage of the men’s and women’s ice hockey gold medal games live across all time zones;

— The women’s gold medal game airs on Thursday, Feb. 20 at Noon ET/9 am PT;
— The men’s gold medal game airs on Sunday, Feb. 23, with coverage beginning at 6:30 a.m. ET/3:30 a.m. PT;

LIVE MEN’S HOCKEY

NBCSN will present 16 men’s live hockey games through the bronze-medal game, including qualifying, playoff, quarterfinal and semifinal games. Live men’s hockey medal-round coverage begins Tuesday, February 18 at 3 a.m. ET. The network will air three Team USA qualifying-round games, including Team USA vs. Russia on Saturday, February 15 at 7:30 a.m. ET.

LIVE WOMEN’S HOCKEY

NBCSN’s women’s hockey coverage features seven live games through the semifinal round and the bronze medal game. Qualifying-round coverage is highlighted by three Team USA games, including Team USA vs. Canada on Wednesday, February 12 at 7:30 a.m. ET.

Click here for the men’s schedule. Notable games between medal contenders in the preliminary round include Czech Republic-Sweden, United States-Russia, and Finland-Canada.