No suspension for Dubinsky after Koivu hit

19 Comments

Columbus forward Brandon Dubinsky won’t face any supplemental discipline for his hit on Saku Koivu during Sunday’s 4-3 loss to Anaheim, TSN’s Bob McKenzie reports.

McKenzie said that, while the NHL did review the hit — Dubinsky was given a five-minute major and game misconduct, Koivu left and didn’t return — the league ruled against supplementary discipline, explaining the hit was “body on body” with incidental head contact.

Here’s the video:

Bruce Boudreau told reporters that Koivu seemed “OK” after the game, but also noted the veteran Finn was temporarily knocked out.

Ducks defenseman Cam Fowler was irate with the collision, saying the Dubinsky hit was the type “we need to try and stop and prevent as much as we can.”

Dubinsky, 27, argued in his own defense.

“I thought my shoulder and elbow were tucked,” Dubinsky told the Columbus Dispatch. “I went out there to make a hit not hurt somebody.

“I’m not a dirty player.”