Introducing: PHT’s ‘Team of the Day’ summer series

8 Comments

Hello, and welcome to August.

/turns on fan

As you probably know, August is one of the slowest months on the hockey calendar. While we do enjoy updating the Mikhail Grabovski watch and reporting who got the Bakersfield Condors video coordinator gig, we also realize the need to, y’know, shake things up a little bit.

Hence the Team of the Day series.

The premise is simple — for each day in August, PHT spotlights an NHL team. You, in turn, spend the day checking for site updates and clicking the OK Cupid banners. The posts will be a mix of looking back at the 2012-13 campaign, recapping the offseason, and looking ahead to 2013-14.

As for what teams we’ll be profiling on what days?

Thurs, Aug 1: Detroit Red Wings

Fri, Aug 2: Buffalo Sabres

Sat, Aug 3: Florida Panthers

Sun, Aug 4: Ottawa Senators

Mon, Aug 5: Tampa Bay Lightning

Tues, Aug 6: Boston Bruins

Wed, Aug 7: Montreal Canadiens

Thur, Aug 8: Toronto Maple Leafs

Fri, Aug 9: Los Angeles Kings

Sat, Aug 10: Anaheim Ducks

Sun, Aug 11: Phoenix Coyotes

Mon, Aug 12: San Jose Sharks

Tues, Aug 13: Vancouver Canucks

Wed, Aug 14: Calgary Flames

Thur, Aug 15: Edmonton Oilers

Fri, Aug 16: Chicago Blackhawks

Sat, Aug 17: Dallas Stars

Sun, Aug 18: Nashville Predators

Mon, Aug 19: Colorado Avalanche

Tues, Aug 20: Minnesota Wild

Wed, Aug 21: St. Louis Blues

Thur, Aug 22: Winnipeg Jets

Fri, Aug 23: New Jersey Devils

Sat, Aug 24: Carolina Hurricanes

Sun, Aug 25: Columbus Blue Jackets

Mon, Aug 26: New York Islanders

Tues, Aug 27: New York Rangers

Wed, Aug 28: Washington Capitals

Thur, Aug 29: Pittsburgh Penguins

Fri, Aug 30: Philadelphia Flyers

Philly and Pittsburgh on the final two days, huh? Bet there won’t be a lot of brotherly love then!

/honks horn, makes wokka wokka noise

So anyway, that’s our August-long project — 30 days, 30 teams. Enjoy!

Senators goaltender Cam Talbot out 5-7 weeks with injury

Nick Turchiaro-USA TODAY Sports
0 Comments

OTTAWA, Ontario — Ottawa Senators goaltender Cam Talbot is expected to be out five to seven weeks with what the team called an upper-body injury.

The Senators initially called Talbot day to day with what they hoped was a minor injury. Instead he’s now expected to miss at least the first month of the NHL season.

Ottawa claimed goalie Magnus Hellberg off waivers from the Seattle Kraken upon announcing Talbot’s expected absence. Hellberg, who played for Sweden at the Beijing Olympics could split time with countryman Anton Forsberg while Talbot is out.

The Senators acquired Talbot from Minnesota during the offseason to make him their starter after the Wild opted against bringing him back along with Marc-Andre Fleury. Talbot, 35, had a 2.76 goals-against average and .911 save percentage this season.

Losing Talbot is a blow to the Senators, who also acquired winger Alex DeBrincat from Chicago and signed longtime Philadelphia Flyers captain Claude Giroux as part of a move toward contending and ending their playoff drought.

Blackhawks’ Boris Katchouk sidelined by ankle sprain

blackhawks
Harry How/Getty Images
13 Comments

CHICAGO — Blackhawks forward Boris Katchouk will be sidelined for four to six weeks with a left ankle sprain, the team announced.

The 24-year-old Katchouk played almost 12 minutes during a 3-0 preseason loss to Detroit on Saturday night. He was acquired in a multiplayer trade with Tampa Bay in March.

The Blackhawks open the season on Oct. 12 at Colorado.

The team also said forward Jujhar Khaira is day to day with a right ankle injury.

Ducks’ Urho Vaakanainen crashes into boards, leaves on stretcher

Getty Images
3 Comments

ANAHEIM, Calif. — Ducks defenseman Urho Vaakanainen was taken off the Honda Center ice on a stretcher after he crashed into the end boards in the first period of Anaheim’s preseason game against the San Jose Sharks.

The Finnish defenseman was conscious and alert with full movement in his extremities at UCI Medical Center, the Ducks said.

The frightening incident occurred midway through the opening period when Vaakanainen smashed into the boards at a dangerous speed behind the Sharks’ net. Vaakanainen appeared to be concentrating on the pass he had just made to Derek Grant, who scored the Ducks’ opening goal on the assist.

Vaakanainen’s teammates came onto the ice and gathered around him as he was taken away on the stretcher.

The Ducks acquired the 23-year-old Vaakanainen from Boston last March in the deal that sent longtime Ducks defenseman Hampus Lindholm to the Bruins. After recording two assists in 14 games for the Ducks last season, Vaakanainen is attempting to win a top-six role on Anaheim’s defense this fall.

Lightning donate $2 million to Hurricane Ian relief efforts

tampa bay lightning
Scott Audette/Getty Images
2 Comments

TAMPA, Fla. — The Tampa Bay Lightning and team owner Jeff Vinik are donating $2 million toward Hurricane Ian relief efforts.

The NHL team announced that $1 million each will be donated by the Tampa Bay Lightning Foundation and the Vinik Family Foundation.

“This is a tragic situation for many families and communities across the state of Florida, but especially so in the southwest region of the state,” Vinik said in a statement released by the team. “In times like these the most important thing we can do is support one another, and we hope this donation will help families recover and rebuild in the months to come.”

Ian made landfall Wednesday on Florida’s Gulf Coast, south of the Tampa Bay area. The Lightning postponed two home preseason games and moved the club’s training camp to Nashville, Tennessee, during the storm.