Canucks announce return of Young Stars Classic


After the lockout wiped out the 2012 edition, the Vancouver Canucks Young Stars Classic will return in 2013.

That was the word out of Vancouver on Thursday as president and GM Mike Gillis announced the club’s annual prospects tourney would return to Pentiction, British Columbia for a third time.

“We’re pleased to host the Young Stars Classic in Penticton once again,” Gillis said in a statement. “Our fans, partners and the city of Penticton have made Young Stars a tremendous event over the past two tournaments and we look forward to continuing the tradition this year.”

Five teams — Vancouver, Edmonton, Calgary, San Jose and Winnipeg — will participate in the tourney, which began in 2010 and has seen a number of future NHLers suit up: Jordan Eberle, Taylor Hall, Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Cam Fowler, Mikael Backlund, Chris Tanev, Zach Redmond, Aaron Volpatti and Magnus Paajarvi, to name a few.

The ’13 tournament will go from Sept. 5-9.