Video: Chris Kunitz, Brad Marchand exchange blows

12 Comments

The old bit of hockey wisdom is that referees often catch the retaliation, but not the infraction that inspired the revenge. It’s not always fair, but it does seem like a good thing to keep in mind.

In the case of a Game 3 exchange in the third period, officials actually caught both. Brad Marchand seemed to trip Chris Kunitz, prompting a slash from the Pittsburgh Penguins forward:

Both received a two-minute minor penalty for their actions, so most people were probably satisfied.