Video: Daniel Sedin’s controversial penalty leads to Sharks OT winner

47 Comments

San Jose’s 4-3 Game 4 overtime victory didn’t come without controversy.

At 13:03 of overtime, Canucks forward Daniel Sedin was sent to the box for boarding Sharks forward Tommy Wingels. The problem here, however, is the play didn’t look like much of a penalty at all. A mere 15 seconds later, Patrick Marleau was putting a rebound past Cory Schneider and into the net sending the Sharks to the second round and the Canucks home for the summer.

Penalty or not? Have a look for yourself.

This video is no longer available. Click here to watch more NBC Sports videos!

After the game, referee Kelly Sutherland told TSN’s Farhan Lalji he deemed Sedin’s play a violent shove into the boards in which the player (Wingels) couldn’t defend himself.

Canucks defenseman Kevin Bieksa told the Vancouver Sun’s Brad Ziemer: “You see that every 30 seconds in the St. Louis-Los Angeles series and you don’t see any of those calls.”

The call didn’t cost Vancouver the series, but it certainly cost them the game and a chance to stay alive a little longer.