NHL announces 2012 Lester Patrick Award winners


The NHL and USA Hockey announced their 2012 recipients of the Lester Patrick Award for outstanding service to hockey in America today.

Washington Capitals executive Dick Patrick and Fort Wayne Komets broadcaster Bob Chase/Wallenstein will receive honors this year during the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame ceremonies next month.

Patrick has been president of the Capitals since 1982-83 and has seen the team go from being an also-ran in the league to one of the premiere franchises in the league. In the 29 seasons since Patrick has been at the helm of the team, they’ve made the playoffs 23 times and the Stanley Cup finals once in 1998.

Chase/Wallenstein has been the voice of the Komets since 1953 and called the team’s CHL championship this past season. Putting in nearly 60 years of work is virtually unbelievable in this day and age and NBC’s Doc Emrick cites Chase/Wallenstein as an inspiration to pursue his own award-winning career.