Patrice Bergeron takes home the Frank J. Selke Trophy


Patrice Bergeron is the winner of the 2011-12 Frank J. Selke Trophy, beating out St. Louis’ David Backes and three-time winner Pavel Datsyuk for the award.

Bergeron led the NHL with a plus-36 rating and he ranked second in the league with a 59.3 faceoff success rate. He was also averaged 1:48 shorthanded minutes per game to lead all Bruins forwards in that category.

The Frank J. Selke Trophy is awarded to “the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game.”

The award was voted on by Professional Hockey Writers’ Association and Bergeron won won in a landslide. He ended up with 1,312 points compared to Backes, who finished in second with 698.

He’s the first member of the Boston Bruins to take home the award since Steve Kasper in 1982.

Recent Winners:
2006-07 – Rod Brind’Amour
2008-10 – Pavel Datsyuk
2011 – Ryan Kesler