NHL unveils the 2011-12 All-Star and All-Rookie teams


In addition to handing out plenty of awards, the 2011-12 All-Star and All-Rookie squads were named on Wednesday. Both teams were selected by the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association.

Forwards and Calder Trophy finalists Gabriel Landeskog of the Colorado Avalanche, Adam Henrique of the New Jersey Devils, and Ryan Nugent-Hopkins of the Edmonton Oilers were selected as the three forwards on the All-Rookie team.

Toronto’s Jake Gardiner and Carolina’s Justin Faulk are the team’s blueliners and Buffalo Sabres goaltender Jhonas Enroth was selected to round out the squad.

The Pittsburgh Penguins James Neal and Evgeni Malkin were both selected to the First All-Star team, with the New Jersey Devils’ Ilya Kovalchuk rounding out the list of forwards.

Shea Weber of the Nashville Predators and Erik Karlsson of the Ottawa Senators were selected as the squads’ two defensemen. Vezina Trophy winner Henrik Lundqvist of the New York Rangers is the final member of the First All-Star team.

The Second All-Star team features Los Angeles Kings goaltender Jonathan Quick. Their defensive corps consists of Zdeno Chara of the Boston Bruins and Alex Pietrangelo of the St. Louis Blues. The squads forwards are Tampa Bay’s Steven Stamkos, Phoenix’s Ray Whitney, and the New York Rangers’ Marian Gaborik.