Nicklas Lidstrom wins the 2011 Norris Trophy


Nicklas Lidstrom did more than just “belong” in his 19th season in the NHL. He convinced hockey writers that he deserved the 2011 Norris Trophy, the seventh of his illustrious career. Lidstrom is only the third player to receive at least seven Norris Trophies, joining the legendary company of Bobby Orr (eight wins) and Doug Harvey (seven).

He didn’t win it by much, though. Lidstrom beat out Nashville Predators defenseman Shea Weber 736-727, the closest race since Chris Chelios beat Ray Bourque by five votes to win the 1996 Norris Trophy. The first place voting was also skin-tight: Lidstrom received 35, Weber received 32 and Chara received 33. It was the tightest overall race in the trophy’s history with just 48 points separating Lidstrom and third-place candidate Chara.

This video is no longer available. Click here to watch more NBC Sports videos!