If you’re wondering if the NHL’s new rule about punishing head shots is working or not, you can worry no more. Los Angeles Kings captain Dustin Brown received a five-minute major and a game misconduct for delivering a shot to the head of prone Minnesota Wild forward Antti Miettinen. Miettinen wasn’t injured on the play and replays show that Brown didn’t make contact with Miettinen’s head.
That said, it was the absolute correct call to make because it was a hit delivered up high to a player that couldn’t defend themselves. You can see video of the hit here on YouTube. What are your thoughts? Was the correct call made?