NHL announces 2009-2010 All-Rookie Team

Before the start of tonights NHL Awards in Las Vegas, the NHL announced the 2010 All-Rookie team and there were very few surprises.


Jimmy Howard – Detroit Red Wings


Michael Del Zotto – New York Rangers

Tyler Myers – Buffalo Sabres


Matt Duchene – Colorado Avalanche

Niclas Bergfors – Atlanta Thrashers

John Tavares – New York Islanders

The two names that might catch some fans off guard here are Bergfors and Del Zotto, but there’s no denying the great seasons they had this year. For Bergfors, after starting the season in New Jersey and then being a big piece in the Ilya Kovalchuk trade.  Del Zotto, meanwhile, came into this season hoping to stick around with the Rangers and turned into a power play phenom for the Rangers to start the season.

As for the other winners, three of them are Calder candidates and the other was the number one pick in 2009. That’s a pretty sweet pedigree.

Scroll Down For: