Arron Asham’s brutal cross check to the throat of Flyers rookie Brayden Schenn didn’t go unnoticed by the NHL.
Sportsnet’s Nick Kypreos reports Asham will have a face-to-face hearing with Brendan Shanahan tomorrow at 11 a.m. to discuss the hit in question. With the meeting being in person that means Asham is likely looking at a suspension greater than five games. The NHL confirms Kypreos’ report announcing hearings with both Asham and James Neal.
Asham’s hit on Schenn happened during a wild first period of Philly’s 8-4 win over the Penguins that saw numerous scrums and assorted nonsense erupt throughout the game. After the tough suspensions we’ve seen for Vancouver’s Byron Bitz and New York’s Carl Hagelin, Asham’s very poor decision is going to see the book thrown at him.
It didn’t take long for the NHL to step in on Shane Doan.
After Doan’s dirty elbow to the head of Stars forward Jamie Benn during Dallas’ shootout win, the league will be meeting with Doan over the play.
Sportsnet’s Nick Kypreos reports Doan will meet with the league at 5 p.m. to discuss the play that saw him put Benn down on the ice with a needless shot to the head. Benn was not injured on the play and Doan received only a minor penalty for elbowing.
If you’re curious whether or not Doan is a first-time offender or not, he isn’t. Doan was just fined last week for boarding Calgary’s Mark Giordano and he was also the first player suspended after the implementation of Rule 48 last season when he hit Anaheim’s Dan Sexton.
Dallas coach Glen Gulutzan said after last night’s game that he feels Doan should be sat down for the hit as he told ESPNDallas,com.
“I think it is a suspendable offense. He targeted the head with his elbow. The league will look at it for sure and decide. But it’s deliberate.”
It sure looks deliberate from this vantage point. Here’s video of the hit if you haven’t seen it. If this one doesn’t warrant action from Brendan Shanahan, who knows what will from here out.
This video is no longer available. Click here to watch more NBC Sports videos!
That was a quick call for the league. After showing you Zach Bogosian’s leaping charge on Carolina’s Andreas Nodl and wondering if it would lead to a suspension, TSN’s Bob McKenzie reports there won’t be any supplementary discipline for Bogosian for the hit.
Amazingly, this wasn’t Bogosian’s first dance with the league when it comes to questionable hits. There were two other plays this season in which Bogosian was scrutinized for iffy play with an elbow to Cody Eakin as well as a hit from behind on Minnesota’s Pierre-Marc Bouchard.
The odd part of all this is that in the eyes of the league Bogosian will continue to have a clean record. You would have to suspect that Bogosian avoided a suspension this time around because he was given a five-minute major and a game misconduct for charging Nodl (Nodl left the game and did not return after the hit), but considering how the league was making it a point to take player safety seriously, this is another head-scratching decision from Brendan Shanahan.
Have another look at the hit courtesy of The Score and judge for yourself. Would you have suspended Bogosian for this play?