Nashville Predators winger Sergei Kostitsyn wasn’t on the ice for Lennart Petrell’s third period short-handed goal for the Edmonton Oilers.
But he was culpable in allowing the Oilers’ odd-man rush up the ice that led to the goal.
With the Predators on the power play just past the midway point of the third period, Kostitsyn was unable to handle a pass that bounced over his stick and into the neutral zone. It happens.
But, in an odd sequence of events, he was outmuscled for the puck by the smaller Sam Gagner, then, giving up on the play, decided to head to the bench on a line change despite the fact the Oilers had suddenly developed a two-on-one rush.
Gagner hit Petrell with a perfect pass and Petrell scored to give Edmonton a 2-1 lead.
The Oilers went on to
win the game 3-2. Below is a video of the goal.
Kostitsyn owned up to his error afterward.
“I made a mistake. I went to change, I should have backchecked, but didn’t see the second guy was coming there,”
he told The Tennessean.
“Even if it was a 1-on-1, I should go back, it doesn’t matter if I was tired. I should have gone back and pressured him from behind.”
Predators defenseman Scott Hannan left the game with an upper-body injury and did not return,
as per Mark Spector of Sportsnet.
National Hockey League referees have been highly criticized this season and officiating will be a main topic of discussion when league general managers meet next week in Toronto.
“I got a call asking me if there was anything I wanted to put on the agenda and I said, ‘Officiating,'”
one undisclosed general manager told the Toronto Sun, “and I was told another GM had already tabled 37 items to do with officiating.”
The latest frustration with officiating and inconsistent calls came from the Nashville Predators’ camp following a 7-4 loss to the Vancouver Canucks on Thursday.
Predators coach Barry Trotz was not pleased with the officials’ decision following a
video review of Jannik Hansen’s goal late in the third period.
He and defenseman Shea Weber also took issue with a hooking call to Sergei Kostitsyn that resulted in a Henrik Sedin penalty shot goal with less than three minutes remaining in the third period of what was, prior to the call, a one-goal hockey game.
The idea of a coach’s challenge, similar to that in the National Football League, has also been brought up.
Last month, Detroit Red Wings general manager Ken Holland told the Globe and Mail he was
open to the idea of a coach’s challenge.
The Nashville Predators were none too pleased with a ruling on the ice Thursday that led to Jannik Hansen’s goal in a 7-4 loss to Vancouver.
“We couldn’t see any evidence of the puck going in,”
Predators coach Barry Trotz told The Tennessean. “The only person in the rink who saw it go in was the referee.”
The referee in question was No. 40, Steve Kozari, who signaled a goal despite the fact that — as Trotz pointed out — nobody ever really saw it go in the net:
Granted, the logic of Kozari’s on-ice call seems simple. Nearly all of Preds goalie Chris Mason was essentially in the net, so the puck must have be in there too.
The hiccup, of course, is that once a goal is ruled good on the ice, there needs to be conclusive replay evidence to overturn the call —
which there wasn’t.
This wasn’t the only call Nashville took offense to.
Both Trotz and Shea Weber were displeased with the hooking penalty called on Sergei Kostitsyn with 2:34 left in the third period, which led to this Henrik Sedin penalty shot:
“I thought it was light,” Trotz told the Tennessean.
“Tough call,” added Weber. “Obviously they saw it one way.”
It had to end eventually.
The San Jose Sharks had their seven-game winning streak to begin the lockout-shortened regular season snapped in a
2-1 shootout loss to the Nashville Predators.
For the Sharks, it was their third game in a row decided by the breakaway contest. Meanwhile, the Predators have gone to a shootout five times in their first eight games.
Craig Smith, Nashville’s second shooter, scored the only goal in the shootout. Predators goalie Pekka Rinne stopped Michal Handzus, Ryane Clowe and Joe Pavelski.
Sergei Kostitsyn and Sharks’ Martin Havlat traded third period goals to send the game to overtime.
Three rounds in the shootout didn’t solve anything. Six rounds? Nope.
Finally, in the eighth round, the Nashville Predators came away with a 2-1 shootout victory over the L.A. Kings Thursday night.
Sergei Kostitsyn scored the fourth goal of the breakaway competition for the Predators, turning Kings goalie Jonathan Quick inside-out with a plethora of moves, eventually going to the forehand.
The win snaps a three-game losing skid for Nashville.
Joshua Cooper of The Tennessean tweeted that Predators goalie
Pekka Rinne took “the previous three losses hard.”
Dustin Brown scored his first of the season for the Kings, although head coach Darryl Sutter still isn’t happy with the offensive output of his team.
“We’re still not getting that goal out of players we need to score,”
Sutter told the L.A. Times.
“It comes down to details.”