Tag: NHL situation room

David Van Der Gulik, Matt D'Agostini, Kevin Shattenkirk, Brian Elliot

Video: You make the call – Should this Avalanche goal have counted?


It’s never easy for officials on the ice or in the booth to get things right, but the Blues sure feel like they lost out on a bad review.

Late in the second period, Avalanche forward Jay McClement broke in on Brian Elliott with what amounted to be a two-on-one with David Van der Gulik. McClement’s centering pass bounced off a sliding Matt D’Agostini who slid backwards into Elliott. The puck went with him in and into the net as the net came off the moorings. Officials called it a goal but it was time for a review.


The review went to Toronto’s Situation Room where the league ruled that the review was inconclusive whether the net was off before or after the puck crossed the line, meaning the call on the ice stands. That goal proved to be the game winner for the Avs, beating St. Louis 3-2. What do you think: Goal or not?

Zach Parise says NHL made the wrong call on his no-goal

New York Islanders v New Jersey Devils

Zach Parise thought he scored the game-tying goal with just two seconds left against the Islanders. After all, he crashed the net peppered away at the puck and had it glance off his skate and past Al Montoya.

As it turns out, the NHL war room in Toronto saw things just a bit differently and ruled that he directed the puck into the net with his skate, wiping away the goal and giving the Islanders a 3-2 win in New Jersey. As you might imagine, that ruling didn’t sit too well with Devils captain Parise.

Tom Gulitti of Fire & Ice hears the protests from Parise after a tough loss.

“A tight game like that where we worked to get back into it and they make the wrong call.”

“I just watched it and I’m sorry, but I can’t agree with it,” Parise said. “I knew it hit off my skate. I knew it hit off my stick too, but if that’s a kicking motion, then I don’t know.”

While the Isles were happy to see the decision work for them, the play itself is highly dubious. Check out the video and see for yourself.

The NHL situation room said they waved off the goal because Parise used his skate to propel the puck to the net. The rule book is written saying that a “distinct kicking motion” cannot be used to put the puck in the net. It would seem the NHL went outside of their rules to wipe this goal out. What do you think though?