Tag: goal controversy


Refs miss too many men on ice call before Coyotes’ 1-1 goal


On Wednesday, Danny Briere’s offside goal helped to turn around what was once a 3-0 deficit into a 4-1 OT win for the Philadelphia Flyers. It’s too early to tell what kind of impact Thursday’s controversial missed-call-turned-goal might have, but it appears that the Phoenix Coyotes were spared a too many men on the ice penalty before tying things up against the Chicago Blackhawks tonight.

This video is no longer available. Click here to watch more NBC Sports videos!

The Coyotes now lead 2-1 early in the third period, so this could be another blown call that the NHL will eventually apologize about. How do you feel about it, though?

Disallowed goal in overtime has Ducks mad

Ryan Getzlaf, Jonas Hiller

The Ducks thought they had it won over New Jersey last night in overtime. Ryan Getzlaf appeared to score the game-winner and give the Ducks a 3-2 win to continue their rocket ride up the standings in the Western Conference.

The problem here though was after the Toronto war room review, they ruled Getzlaf kicked in the puck and waived it off. Have a look for yourself.

The Devils went on to win in the shootout. Getzlaf after the game told Eric Stephens of the Orange County Register that he was merely trying to slow down going to the net.

“He tied my stick up and I was just going to the net,” Getzlaf said. “It was like I was just stopping and it went off my skate and went in. They obviously saw it differently. …”

Meanwhile, Martin Brodeur was positive the review was going to come out in their favor.

“I never left my crease,” Brodeur said. “I had no doubt in my mind he kicked it. When we saw it on the replay, it was even more obvious, but with the NHL you’ve just got to wait.”

Did the NHL get this one right or do the Ducks have a reason to be mad?

Zach Parise says NHL made the wrong call on his no-goal

New York Islanders v New Jersey Devils

Zach Parise thought he scored the game-tying goal with just two seconds left against the Islanders. After all, he crashed the net peppered away at the puck and had it glance off his skate and past Al Montoya.

As it turns out, the NHL war room in Toronto saw things just a bit differently and ruled that he directed the puck into the net with his skate, wiping away the goal and giving the Islanders a 3-2 win in New Jersey. As you might imagine, that ruling didn’t sit too well with Devils captain Parise.

Tom Gulitti of Fire & Ice hears the protests from Parise after a tough loss.

“A tight game like that where we worked to get back into it and they make the wrong call.”

“I just watched it and I’m sorry, but I can’t agree with it,” Parise said. “I knew it hit off my skate. I knew it hit off my stick too, but if that’s a kicking motion, then I don’t know.”

While the Isles were happy to see the decision work for them, the play itself is highly dubious. Check out the video and see for yourself.

The NHL situation room said they waved off the goal because Parise used his skate to propel the puck to the net. The rule book is written saying that a “distinct kicking motion” cannot be used to put the puck in the net. It would seem the NHL went outside of their rules to wipe this goal out. What do you think though?