Tag: game misconduct

Jason Chimera

Video: Jason Chimera’s questionable hit on Adam McQuaid


Washington Capitals winger Jason Chimera was booted from a big game against the Boston Bruins for a questionable hit on Adam McQuaid, which you can survey below:

While Chimera got a game misconduct for his bad deeds and the Bruins received a five-minute major power play opportunity, but no goals resulted in the interchange. Boston couldn’t score on that lengthy man advantage, however, and Washington went on to win a wild 3-2 shootout, securing a crucial two points.

That being said, the obvious question is whether or not Chimera should be available for the Capitals next game (and perhaps beyond). He certainly took plenty of strides before the hit, but the suspension-worthiness is up to debate.

So debate away, then. Was a five-minute major punishment enough? If a suspension is in order, how long should it be? Let us know.

It looks like Tomas Vokoun may be injured again

Tomas Vokoun, Jeff Skinner

While it’s not a certainty, obvious body language – shaking his head in apparent frustration, leaving the ice in an instant – indicates that Tomas Vokoun aggravated his groin injury tonight. The Washington Times’ Stephen Whyno ranks among the people who feel strongly that it’s not just a skate issue for a goalie who missed 13 games with that ailment.

Whyno also points out that Braden Holtby left the press box to essentially back up Michal Neuvirth on an emergency basis, which just strengthens the possibility that Vokoun is injured.

The first period ended as a good news/bad news scenario for the Washington Capitals in another big game (this time against the Bruins in Boston). Admittedly, the atmosphere leans toward the negative, though.

Bad news: Jason Chimera received a game misconduct for a significant charging hit on Adam McQuaid, who was banged up after the hit.

Good news: Vokoun helped the Capitals kill most of the five-minute major penalty that resulted, leaving the net with somewhere around 40 seconds of PK time remaining.

Bad news: Vokoun likely tweaked that injury during the kill.

Neutral: The first period ended 0-0, which all things considered (particularly the 7-2 shot disparity in favor of Boston), might just be good news.

Update: CSNWashington.com’s Chuck Gormley reports that Vokoun won’t return to the game – and even goes as far as to wonder if it’s “the last” the team will see of the banged-up netminder. (In a Capitals uniform, at least.)

Lucic game misconduct penalty rescinded

Vancouver Canucks v Boston Bruins

The NHL has rescinded the game-misconduct penalty that was assessed to Milan Lucic in the wild first period of the Bruins/Canucks game Saturday afternoon. Initially, the on-ice officials ruled that Lucic left the bench to join an altercation. With the benefit of replay, league officials saw that Lucic had initially jumped on the ice during a normal line change, then was starting step back onto the bench before getting involved in the scrum.

Here’s the explanation from the National Hockey League Senior Vice President and
Director of Officiating Terry Gregson:

“The referees reacted to what they saw,” Gregson said. “The only player they saw coming from the bench area from either team was Lucic. But with the benefit of replay, we can see that Lucic had previously entered the ice over the boards legally to join the play and actually was contemplating stepping back onto the bench through the door when the altercation ensued.

“It should be further noted that a review of the video confirmed that all players on both teams involved in the altercation had entered the ice legally for the purpose of joining the play. None entered the ice for the purpose of joining or starting an altercation, which is prohibited by Rule

NHL Rule 70.1 – Leaving the Bench reads: “No player may leave the players’ or penalty bench at any time during an altercation or for the purpose of starting an altercation.”

Yeah, we could watch these two teams go at it for seven games in June again.

The NHL won’t fine or suspend Jamie McGinn for boarding hit on Aaron Rome

Aaron Rome
1 Comment

The NHL will not impose supplemental discipline on San Jose Sharks forward Jamie McGinn for boarding Vancouver Canucks defenseman Aaron Rome. That means McGinn won’t be suspended or fined for that hit after his hearing with the league today.

McGinn received a five-minute major penalty and game misconduct for the hit during the game itself, so perhaps the NHL felt that was a sufficient punishment. Many people thought that the major penalty was too harsh a reaction to the hit in the first place, but I’ll leave that debate to the comments.

If nothing else, watching that penalty put the Sharks in a tough position was probably the worst punishment for McGinn. The Canucks scored two power-play goals during that five minute major, turning what has been a one-sided 4-1 game into a 4-3 nail-biter.

Don’t expect to see much of McGinn, anyway.

It wouldn’t be surprising if this is the last we’ll see of McGinn in this year’s playoffs. That boarding penalty is the second time the young forward put the Sharks in a terrible position in just five postseason appearances. You may remember that McGinn received a five-minute major and game misconduct for charging in Game 6 of San Jose’s first round series against the Los Angeles Kings. That penalty happened late in the third period and stretched on into overtime, but the Sharks managed to kill it and win that game.

The Sharks haven’t lost in either of the games that McGinn took such ill-advised bad penalties, but he only played in three of the team’s 10 games since that Game 6 mishap. It would be surprising to see much more of him in this postseason – he’s averaging less than six minutes of ice time in his rare playoff appearances anyway – although Joe points out that McGinn’s departure might open up the door for fellow knucklehead Ben Eager to return. (Perhaps the Sharks have a responsible, NHL-ready forward lurking somewhere among their healthy scratches, though.)

McGinn seems like he could have a solid future with the Sharks, but he’s not earning much trust in his second playoff run with the team.

Joe Thornton ejected for blindside hit on David Perron


Sharks captain Joe Thornton might be getting a call from NHL disciplinarian Colin Campbell this weekend. At 5:29 of the second period of the Sharks game against the Blues in St. Louis, Thornton exited the penalty box after serving a minor penalty for boarding and caught Blues forward David Perron with a blindside hit to the head. Thornton received a five-minute major for an illegal check to the head, and a game misconduct.

Meanwhile, the teams started scrapping with each other and Logan Couture and Alex Pietrangelo squared off in a fight. Perron would get some revenge later in the period as he scored his fifth goal of the year to give St. Louis a 2-0 lead.

Update: Here’s video of the hit on YouTube. (Courtesy of HockeyFights.com)