Tag: Edmonton Oilers

Cam Talbot

Talbot knows he has a ‘great opportunity’ in Edmonton

14 Comments

Not that anyone expects the Edmonton Oilers to win the Stanley Cup next season. But at the very least, with Connor McDavid, a new coach in Todd McLellan, and a few other tweaks, there’s pressure for them to be much better.

Cam Talbot will shoulder much of that pressure. The 28-year-old goalie that the Oilers got in a trade with the Rangers is expected to battle Ben Scrivens for the starting job next season. Another goalie, Anders Nilsson, is in the mix, too.

“It’s definitely an exciting time for this organization to get a generational player like everyone’s been saying like Connor,” Talbot said, per NHL.com.

“It’s going to be a great opportunity for me here, to be able to come in and work with a good young group of guys and obviously a group that’s headed in the right direction.”

Goaltending was once again a major issue for Edmonton last season, despite the club’s best efforts to fix the problem with Scrivens and Viktor Fasth.

And let’s not forget that Talbot has only started 53 NHL games in his entire career. Though his numbers are impressive in that small sample (.931 save percentage), it’s like Craig MacTavish once said, “I think anyone who tells you they’re sure about the performance of their goaltenders based on a relatively small sample size, is not likely accurate.”

In Talbot’s favor, he’s been able to watch one of the best in the game go about his business.

“Getting to play behind a guy like [Henrik Lundqvist], you learn a lot and you get to see what it takes to be a No. 1 [goalie] in this league,” he said.

PHT Morning Skate: ‘Hawks fan hikes Machu Picchu, meets Jonathan Toews

Jonathan Toews
4 Comments

PHT’s Morning Skate takes a look around the world of hockey to see what’s happening and what we’ll be talking about around the NHL world and beyond.

Ryan Adorjan has been traveling in Peru for the last three months, during which time he both watched Jonathan Toews win the Stanley Cup on television… then met Jonathan Toews while hiking Machu Picchu. Decent little trip, that. (Oswego Only)

Former Kings, Devils and Hurricanes forward Andrei Loktionov is eyeing a return to the NHL. (Russia-Hockey.ru)

He hasn’t been asked yet, but Ryan Smyth has contemplated housing Connor McDavid this season in Edmonton. (NHL.com)

The Coyotes have hired Corey Schwab and Jon Elkin as their new goalie coaches. (Fox Sports Arizona)

Sidney Crosby and Nathan MacKinnon worked the drive-thru window of a Nova Scotia Tim Horton’s on Monday. Insert Ryan O’Reilly joke here. (The Chronicle Herald)

NBC Sports to broadcast 105 NHL games in 2015-16

Henrik Lundqvist, Jonathan Toews, Ryan McDonagh
58 Comments

They’ve just announced the big list of 105 regular-season NHL games that NBC/NBCSN will be broadcasting in 2015-16.

It all kicks off with an Oct. 7 doubleheader on NBCSN, with the Rangers visiting the Blackhawks followed by the Kings hosting the Sharks.

Games on NBC start with the Thanksgiving Showdown on Friday, Nov. 27, between the Rangers and Bruins.

Other notables include the Winter Classic between the Bruins and Habs on Jan. 1, as well as the only visit Connor McDavid’s Oilers will make to Buffalo to take on Jack Eichel’s Sabres on March 1.

The press release has all the information.

Here’s the full list of games:

Wed., Oct. 7 N.Y. Rangers Chicago NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Wed., Oct. 7 San Jose Los Angeles NBCSN 10 p.m.
Thur., Oct. 8 Minnesota Colorado NBCSN 9 p.m.
Tues., Oct. 13 Tampa Bay Detroit NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Wed., Oct. 14 Chicago Philadelphia NBCSN 8 p.m.
Tues., Oct. 20 Dallas Philadelphia NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Wed., Oct. 21 Philadelphia Boston NBCSN 8 p.m.
Tues., Oct. 27 Tampa Bay St. Louis NBCSN 8 p.m.
Wed., Oct. 28 Pittsburgh Washington NBCSN 8 p.m.
Wed., Oct. 28 Nashville San Jose NBCSN 10:30 p.m.
Tues., Nov. 3 Los Angeles St. Louis NBCSN 8:30 p.m.
Wed., Nov. 4 St. Louis Chicago NBCSN 8 p.m.
Tues., Nov. 10 Buffalo Tampa Bay NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Wed., Nov. 11 Montreal Pittsburgh NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Tues., Nov. 17 Minnesota Pittsburgh NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Wed., Nov. 18 Washington Detroit NBCSN 8 p.m.
Wed., Nov. 25 Philadelphia N.Y. Islanders NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Wed., Nov. 25 Chicago San Jose NBCSN 10 p.m.
Fri., Nov 27 N.Y. Rangers Boston NBC 1 p.m.
Fri., Nov. 27 Chicago Anaheim NBCSN 5 p.m.
Tues., Dec. 1 Minnesota Chicago NBCSN 8 p.m.
Tues., Dec. 1 Pittsburgh San Jose NBCSN 10:30 p.m.
Wed., Dec. 2 N.Y. Rangers N.Y. Islanders NBCSN 8 p.m.
Tues., Dec. 8 Detroit Washington NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Wed., Dec. 9 Boston Montreal NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Wed., Dec. 9 Pittsburgh Colorado NBCSN 10 p.m.
Tues., Dec. 15 Colorado Chicago NBCSN 8:30 p.m.
Wed., Dec. 16 Pittsburgh Boston NBCSN 8 p.m.
Tues., Dec. 22 Montreal Minnesota NBCSN 8 p.m.
Tues., Dec. 22 San Jose Los Angeles NBCSN 10:30 p.m.
Tues., Dec. 29 Nashville St. Louis NBCSN 8 p.m.
Wed., Dec. 30 N.Y. Rangers Tampa Bay NBCSN 8 p.m.
Wed., Dec. 30 Philadelphia San Jose NBCSN 10:30 p.m.
Fri., Jan. 1 Montreal Boston NBC 1 p.m.
Mon., Jan. 4 Los Angeles Colorado NBCSN 9 p.m.
Tues., Jan. 5 Montreal Philadelphia NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Wed., Jan. 6 Pittsburgh Chicago NBCSN 8 p.m.
Thur., Jan. 7 Philadelphia Minnesota NBCSN 8 p.m.
Sun., Jan. 10 New Jersey Minnesota NBCSN 8 p.m.
Tues., Jan. 12 Tampa Bay Colorado NBCSN 9 p.m.
Wed., Jan. 13 Boston Philadelphia NBCSN 8 p.m.
Thur., Jan. 14 Chicago Montreal NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Sun., Jan. 17 Philadelphia Detroit NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Mon., Jan. 18 Pittsburgh St. Louis NBCSN 8 p.m.
Tues., Jan. 19 Chicago Nashville NBCSN 8 p.m.
Wed., Jan. 20 St. Louis Detroit NBCSN 8 p.m.
Wed., Jan. 20 Minnesota Anaheim NBCSN 10:30 p.m.
Sun., Jan. 24 Pittsburgh Washington NBC 12:30 p.m.
Mon., Jan. 25 Buffalo N.Y. Rangers NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Tues., Jan 26 Chicago Carolina NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Tues., Jan 26 Colorado San Jose NBCSN 10 p.m.
Wed., Jan. 27 Philadelphia Washington NBCSN 8 p.m.
Wed., Jan. 27 Colorado Los Angeles NBCSN 10:30 p.m.
Tues., Feb. 2 Florida Washington NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Wed., Feb. 3 Detroit Tampa Bay NBCSN 8 p.m.
Thurs., Feb. 4 N.Y. Islanders Washington NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Thurs., Feb. 4 Anaheim Los Angeles NBCSN 10 p.m.
Sun., Feb. 7 Philadelphia Washington NBC 12 p.m.
Tues., Feb. 9 Dallas Minnesota NBCSN 8 p.m.
Wed., Feb. 10 N.Y. Rangers Pittsburgh NBCSN 8 p.m.
Sun., Feb. 14 Boston Detroit NBC 3 p.m.
Sun., Feb. 14 Philadelphia N.Y. Rangers NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Tues., Feb. 16 Dallas St. Louis NBCSN 8 p.m.
Wed., Feb. 17 Chicago N.Y. Rangers NBCSN 8 p.m.
Thurs., Feb. 18 Detroit Pittsburgh NBCSN 7 p.m.
Sun., Feb. 21 Pittsburgh Buffalo NBC 12:30 p.m.
Sun., Feb. 21 Chicago Minnesota NBC 3:30 p.m.
Sun., Feb. 21 Detroit N.Y. Rangers NBCSN 7 p.m.
Mon., Feb. 22 San Jose St. Louis NBCSN 8 p.m.
Tues., Feb. 23 Columbus Detroit NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Wed., Feb. 24 Pittsburgh Boston NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Wed., Feb. 24 San Jose Colorado NBCSN 10 p.m.
Thurs., Feb. 25 Nashville Chicago NBCSN 8 p.m.
Sat., Feb. 27 Detroit Colorado NBC 8 p.m.
Sun., Feb. 28 Washington Chicago NBC 12:30 p.m.
Sun., Feb. 28 Tampa Bay Boston NBCSN 6:30 p.m.
Sun., Feb 28 Los Angeles Anaheim NBCSN 9 p.m.
Tues., March 1 Edmonton Buffalo NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Wed., March 2 Chicago Detroit NBCSN 8 p.m.
Sun., March 6 St. Louis Minnesota NBCSN 8 p.m.
Mon., March 7 Arizona Colorado NBCSN 9 p.m.
Tues., March 8 Pittsburgh N.Y. Islanders NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Wed., March 9 Chicago St. Louis NBCSN 8 p.m.
Sun., March 13 Pittsburgh N.Y. Rangers NBC 12:30 p.m.
Sun., March 13 Toronto Detroit NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Mon., March 14 Los Angeles Chicago NBCSN 8 p.m.
Tues., March 15 Detroit Philadelphia NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Tues., March 15 Boston San Jose NBCSN 10 p.m.
Wed., March 16 Philadelphia Chicago NBCSN 8 p.m.
Sun., March 20 Washington Pittsburgh NBCSN 6 p.m.
Sun., March 20 Minnesota Chicago NBCSN 8:30 p.m.
Mon., March 21 Philadelphia N.Y. Islanders NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Tues., March 22 Los Angeles Minnesota NBCSN 8:30 p.m.
Wed., March 23 Boston N.Y. Rangers NBCSN 8 p.m.
Sun., March 27 N.Y. Rangers Pittsburgh NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Mon., March 28 Buffalo Detroit NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Mon., March 28 Los Angeles San Jose NBCSN 10 p.m.
Tues., March 29 Colorado St. Louis NBCSN 8:30 p.m.
Wed., March 30 Washington Philadelphia NBCSN 8 p.m.
Sun., April 3 Boston Chicago NBC 12:30 p.m.
Sun., April 3 St. Louis Colorado NBCSN 8 p.m.
Tues., April 5 Tampa Bay N.Y. Rangers NBCSN 7:30 p.m.
Wed., April 6 Philadelphia Detroit NBCSN 8 p.m.
Sat., April 9 Pittsburgh Philadelphia NBC 3 p.m.
Sat., April 9 TBD TBD NBCSN TBD

PHT Morning Skate: Yep, Patrick Sharp’s Stanley Cup photos with his kids are adorable

sharpcup
6 Comments

PHT’s Morning Skate takes a look around the world of hockey to see what’s happening and what we’ll be talking about around the NHL world and beyond.

OK, so this is actually field hockey related, but still pretty wild stuff about Cuban players defecting. (AFP)

Continuing with the theme of “peripherally about hockey but mostly about another sport” reads, check out this fascinating story about AVM, the company that in many ways spearheaded baseball’s stats movement. Hey, there’s at least a mention of Corsi. (Grantland)

The oral history of Lou Lamoriello’s New Jersey Devils’ days is absolutely worth a read. (The Hockey News)

Twenty-one things to note from Steve Moore’s Smashfest IV, which happened this past weekend. (Sportsnet)

A profile of Gilles “Bad News” Bilodeau. (Greatest Hockey Legends)

Is it time for the Edmonton Oilers to find a new captain as Andrew Ference fades from relevance? (Oilers Nation)

ESPN’s Scott Burnside is the latest to take a stab at the “who missed the playoffs last season but will make it in 2015-16?” question. (ESPN)

Get this, these photos of Patrick Sharp, his children and the Stanley Cup are awfully cute. Shocking, right?

Sticker shock: Oilers fans react to ticket prices for upcoming new arena

2015 NHL Draft - Portraits
23 Comments

It remains to be seen if the Edmonton Oilers will be a playoff contender by the time they move into Rogers Place in 2016-17. It looks like Oilers season ticket holders will be paying as if they’re a high-end team either way.

The good news for Edmonton Oilers fans is that the “Connor McDavid tax” won’t be that costly for next season. Season tickets in their new arena fall in the cost range of “arm and a leg,” though.

The Oilers released a “season seat relocation guide” for the opening of Rogers Place in 2016-17, and the options are both more expensive and a little more complicated than what fans will experience at Rexall Place. It’s a little tough to compare and contrast when ticket pricing options just from eight different structures to 38, as Global Edmonton points out.

Copper & Blue’s Ryan Batty probably summarizes the more modest jump in prices – relatively speaking – between 2014-15 and next season versus the leap between 2015-16 and the new building’s opening campaign in 2016-17.

Yikes. To little surprise, Oilers fans seem a little stunned by the spike in prices, especially since Batty points out that the team is asking for some cash early:

Here are some choice reactions from fans and media members on Twitter:

Well, they better improve by the time they move then, right?