Tag: Brendan Shanahan

Peter DeBoer

DeBoer on Prust hit: “Headhunting. Plain and simple.”


We’re going to hear a lot about Brandon Prust’s elbow to the back of Anton Volchenkov’s head that didn’t result in a penalty, and Devils coach Peter DeBoer isn’t very happy about it.

During the coach’s post-game press conference, DeBoer was asked his thoughts on the play and answered strongly and forcefully.

“Headhunting, plain and simple.” 

For what it’s worth, Prust said the elbow was “accidental” after the game. Volchenkov didn’t think quite so highly of it as he tells Tom Gulitti of Fire & Ice.

“It was pretty dirty, actually. It was an elbow in the head. We’ll see what it’s going to amount to.”

Brendan Shanahan, the podium is yours.

This video is no longer available. Click here to watch more NBC Sports videos!

Brandon Prust might be suspended for his elbow to Anton Volchenkov

Brandon Prust, Anton Volchenkov

Game 3 between the Rangers and Devils didn’t go without incident.

While New York seized a 2-1 series lead with a 3-0 win over New Jersey, Rangers forward Brandon Prust caught the ire of the Devils thanks to his elbow on Anton Volchenkov.

Prust catches Volchenkov square in the back of the head with a rather needless hit. Prust wasn’t penalized and Volchenkov didn’t leave the game with an injury. Brendan Shanahan will have to debate if Prust did that intentionally or if it was an “accidental” play thanks to Volchenkov’s sudden turn.  Have a look for yourselves and debate whether we’ll see Prust suit up for Game 4 or not.

This video is no longer available. Click here to watch more NBC Sports videos!

Martin Hanzal to meet with NHL over his hit on Dustin Brown

Dustin Brown, Martin Hanzal

Martin Hanzal will meet with the NHL today to discuss his push from behind on Kings forward Dustin Brown. Now, it’ll be up to Brendan Shanahan to determine if Hanzal sits for Game 3 and possibly more.

Hanzal’s hit came in the third period of last night’s chippy Game 2 with the Kings already ahead 3-0. Jeff Carter would score his hat trick goal during the five-minute major. Hanzal was also given a game misconduct on the play. Brown, meanwhile, was seemingly uninjured on the play and returned immediately.

As we’ve seen with other plays in the past, injury has played a factor in determining the severity of punishment. Considering how reckless this hit was, injury or not, Hanzal appears to be a candidate to sit for one game.

This video is no longer available. Click here to watch more NBC Sports videos!

Report: Raffi Torres’ appeal to be heard Thursday

Marian Hossa, Raffi Torres

Raffi Torres has been sitting quietly in the press box since delivering his brutal shot to Marian Hossa in the first round, but there’s a very outside chance his days of waiting may come to an end soon.

According to Nick Kypreos of Sportsnet, Torres’ appeal of his 25-game suspension will be heard on Thursday. The catch with an appeal, however, is he won’t be sitting down with Brendan Shanahan to discuss it but with NHL commissioner Gary Bettman instead. The chances of seeing Bettman go against his guy Shanahan and reduce Torres’ suspension would appear to be minimal.

Torres’ suspension for his late, head-targeting hit is one of the longest in NHL history and one that was deemed to have three separate penalties occur on the same play. No penalty was called during the game.

Report: Claude Giroux to meet with league over Zubrus head shot

Claude Giroux, Kevin Pollock

According to Nick Kypreos of Sportsnet, Flyers forward Claude Giroux will need to explain himself to Brendan Shanahan later this morning.

Kypreos reports Giroux will meet with the league at 11 a.m. ET today over his late head shot to Devils forward Dainius Zubrus. Giroux’s hit came late in the second period and earned him a two-minute penalty for an illegal check to the head.

Giroux’s hit and now apparent meeting with the league now puts his status for Game 5 in doubt. If the Flyers have to go into an elimination game without their top offensive player, their outlook for survival is bleak. For what it’s worth, TSN’s Bob McKenzie says Giroux’s hit was a textbook Rule 48 violation and the last time we heard that from him was in regard to Raffi Torres’ hit on Marian Hossa.