Cam Tucker

Colorado Avalanche v Chicago Blackhawks
Getty Images

He’s still got it: Joe Sakic scores with famous wrist shot during alumni game (Video)


Joe Sakic can still shoot the puck.

That quick, accurate and lethal wrist shot that was his calling card throughout his career and used to haunt opposing goalies over the years, well, he’s still got it.

It was on display in the Avalanche-Red Wings alumni game on Friday, as the former Colorado captain skated in off the left wing — he was given plenty of time, too — and ripped a low wrist shot for the goal.


Johnson (upper-body) out two weeks, Blue Jackets recall Paliotta

on November 25, 2015 at the Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey.
Getty Images

The Columbus Blue Jackets dipped into the minors to recall defenseman Michael Paliotta from the AHL’s Lake Erie Monsters on Friday.

The roster move comes after veteran blue liner Jack Johnson was placed on injured reserve with an upper-body injury. It’s expected he’ll miss two weeks, after suffering the injury Thursday against New Jersey.

“(Johnson’s) a big part of our team,” David Savard told the Columbus Dispatch.

“He’s one of the leaders in the room. I’ve played a lot with him. He’s real easy to play with. He can change the game. You see him sometimes take charge of games. It’s a huge loss for our team, but it’s a chance to for people to show what they can do.”

Johnson, 29, has six goals and 14 points in 60 games.

Paliotta, 22 years old and standing six-foot-four-inches tall and 212 pounds, has appeared in career NHL game with Chicago last season.

Capitals’ Carlson a late scratch with lower-body injury

San Jose Sharks v Washington Capitals
Getty Images

John Carlson was scratched from the Washington Capitals lineup on Friday with a lower-body injury, the club announced less than an hour before puck drop against the Minnesota Wild.

The Capitals’ 26-year-old defenseman will be re-evaluated on Saturday.

In 47 games this season, Carlson has six goals and 31 points.

From CSN Mid-Atlantic:

Carlson saw his ironman streak snapped at 412 games in December due to an undisclosed lower-body injury. He missed 12 games before returning on Jan. 27 following the All-Star Break. Whether he re-aggravated his prior injury or suffered a different one is not yet known.

It is also unclear when the injury happened as he was at morning skate and was expected to play tonight.

Depth on the blue line is something the Capitals have tried to address heading into the post-season and prior to next Monday’s trade deadline, starting with the acquisition of Mike Weber from the Buffalo Sabres earlier this week.


Hockey Hall of Fame winger Andy Bathgate dies at 83

1 Comment

NEW YORK (AP) Hall of Fame winger Andy Bathgate, one of the most prolific scorers of his day, has died. He was 83.

Bathgate’s death was confirmed by the Hockey Hall of Fame and by the New York Rangers on Friday.

A dynamic shooter, Bathgate was the NHL’s MVP for the 1958-59 season when he scored 40 goals and had 88 points. He was the first member of the Rangers to score 40 times in a season.

A two-time first-team all-star in an era when Gordie Howe was the dominant right wing, Bathgate played in eight All-Star games. He spent just under 12 seasons with the Rangers before being traded to Toronto in 1964, when he won his only Stanley Cup.

Bathgate also played for Detroit and Pittsburgh in the NHL and Vancouver in the WHA during his 18 pro seasons. He scored 349 goals and 973 points in 1,069 NHL game and was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1978.

With Devils chasing a playoff spot, Cammalleri (hand) could be done for the season

Florida Panthers v New Jersey Devils
Getty Images
1 Comment

The New Jersey Devils, a team already strapped for scoring with a league-worst 2.21 goals for per game, could be facing a difficult reality as they continue to chase a playoff spot in the Eastern Conference.

According to reports, 33-year-old Michael Cammalleri could be done for the season with a hand injury that earlier this month resulted in the Devils putting him on injured reserve retroactive to Jan. 26.

The news comes with the Devils — a team that relies heavily on the quality goaltending of Cory Schneider, who has the fourth highest number of saves among NHL goalies — just one point back of Pittsburgh for the final Wild Card spot in the East.

The Penguins have three games in hand.

Cammalleri was leading New Jersey in points (38 points in 42 games) when he was placed on IR. He also had a team-best 3.14 goals-for per 60 minutes rating at five-on-five, and the possibility he could be done for the season would present a huge loss for a team that already struggles to score.