Minnesota Wild goalie Devan Dubnyk is perplexed.
The Wild lost 2-1 to the Dallas Stars on Saturday, falling behind 2-0 in this first-round series. Dubnyk’s criticism seemed directed at the video review process, after a call of ‘no goal’ on the ice was overturned following a review, giving Dallas a 1-0 lead on a strange Antoine Roussel goal in the second period.
The puck hit off Roussel’s skate behind the net, onto the back of Dubnyk and eventually into the net. The net was dislodged and there was a question about whether there was a distinct kicking motion from Roussel.
Yet, after a review, the original call was overturned.
“It’s mind-boggling the outcome of that play in the playoffs,” said Dubnyk, as per the Pioneer Press.
“It’s not the ref’s fault. He waved it off. You tell me how they come up with conclusive evidence to overturn the call? It’s crazy. The ref made the right call on the ice. Somehow they have enough to overturn it in Toronto.”
The San Jose Sharks are now two wins away from exorcising the demons of 2014 when they had a 3-0 series lead over the L.A. Kings and then collapsed to lose the next four and the series in seven games.
The Sharks gained a 2-0 lead in their best-of-seven first-round series with the Kings, following a gutsy 2-1 victory in L.A. on Saturday. Both games in this series have been fiercely physical and each decided by just one goal.
In Game 2, the rival Kings and Sharks combined for 87 hits. Get the ice packs ready, because this could be another long series in the making, even if L.A. is behind two games right now.
After scoring twice in the series opener, including the winner, Joe Pavelski struck again Saturday, getting San Jose on the board in the first period. The Sharks could’ve had more, too, except both Luke Schenn and Rob Scuderi bailed out their goalie, Jonathan Quick, protecting the net and diving to deny Logan Couture late in the first period.
Couture answered back in the second period, scoring on the power play to increase San Jose’s lead. That goal turned out to be the winner.
Vincent Lecavalier gave the Kings hope late in the third period, scoring on a scramble with just over five minutes remaining. That was as close as L.A. would get to tying the game. They now head to San Jose in need of a win in the next game, or face going down 3-0 in this series.
That would be familiar territory for both teams.
Logan Couture had Jonathan Quick beat.
And if it wasn’t for the efforts of Kings’ defensemen Luke Schenn and Rob Scuderi, Couture would’ve had a goal for the San Jose Sharks late in the first period of Game 2.
During a scramble in front of Quick, after the L.A. goalie was unable to cover up for the whistle, the puck came back to Couture, who ripped a shot only to have Schenn block the net. Scuderi also slid in front of Couture to try to block the shot.
The puck deflected out of play and the rough stuff ensued.
(In Game 1, it was Drew Doughty who had to make a desperation stop in the crease, as Quick was caught out of position.)
Couture did get his revenge: In the second period, he scored on the power play, giving San Jose a 2-0 lead.
On a night the Philadelphia Flyers lost 4-1 to the Washington Capitals, and fell behind 2-0 in the first-round series, goalie Steve Mason held himself accountable for a disastrous goal allowed in the second period.
Jason Chimera was officially credited with the goal — it turned out to be the winner — after he deflected the puck in on Mason from the neutral zone. Less than a minute before that, Mason had made an unbelievable save, doing the full splits to keep it a one-goal game at that point.
But then the unthinkable happened for Mason and the Flyers, as the Chimera deflection from the Washington side of center went right through the legs of the Philadelphia netminder.
“You just have to have a short memory,” said Mason, as per the Philadelphia Inquirer. “It sucked. It’s a crappy feeling. I just completely messed up on it. It should have been a simple play for me. I messed up.”
He continued: “My fault, obviously. I put the team in a tough position after that. Just a bad goal.”
Others were a little more sympathetic. That includes Capitals star, and fellow member of the goaltending fraternity, Braden Holtby.
“You never want to see it as a goalie,” said Holtby, as per the Washington Post, after a 41-save effort for the Game 2 win.
“As a competitor, you don’t want to see it, you feel for the other guy. He’ll come back and he’ll come back hard.”
Despite a frantic flurry of chances from the Minnesota Wild in the final minute of the third period, the Dallas Stars held on for the 2-1 win on Saturday. They now hold a 2-0 series lead.
Jamie Benn scored the winning goal midway through the third period. But the Wild, unlike in the series opener, were able to make it interesting in the late stages. Marco Scandella moved Minnesota to within a goal less than three minutes after Benn increased the Dallas lead to two. But the Wild just couldn’t get the tying goal in the final minute.
Charlie Coyle had a chance at the side of the net but couldn’t corral the loose puck on his forehand for the shot. Stars’ goalie Kari Lehtonen made a big save off a deflection seconds before that.
But a controversial call on a bizarre goal in the second period had a substantial impact in this game.
Antoine Roussel opened the scoring, after the puck hit off his skate — was there a kicking motion? — from behind the net, deflected up and onto the back of goalie Devan Dubnyk and eventually into the net. The net was dislodged on the play, and the original call on the ice was ‘no goal.’
The play was subject to a video review. The call was overturned and, as a result, Dallas took the lead.
Here is a replay of the goal, if you haven’t seen it yet.
Again, here is the explanation from the NHL:
At 3:54 of the second period in the Wild/Stars game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Minnesota net. Video review determined that the puck crossed the Minnesota goal line in a legal fashion prior to the net being displaced. According to Rule 78.4 “The goal frame shall be considered in its proper position when at least a portion of the flexible peg(s) are still inside both the goal post and the hole in the ice”. Good goal Dallas.