Making fun of goal reviews is practically a pastime on Twitter at this point, but Zach Parise‘s eventual 2-2 goal between the Chicago Blackhawks and Minnesota Wild was one of the more amusing and noteworthy recent examples.
(Granted, Blackhawks players, fans and executives probably aren’t too amused. Maybe in time?)
Officials went through goal review process for a long time trying to determine if the play was onside, ultimately determining that it was inconclusive. Plenty of people believe that it was conclusively offside, however.
The fun stuff really came from an official seemingly using his iPhone during the process, likely consulting the war room in Toronto.
People giggled and were merry at this unusual moment.
This was a goldmine for the Xcel Energy Center crew, which played a dial tone along with the expected long review drops, such as the “Jeopardy” theme.
Did the league get it wrong? Sportsnet’s Elliotte Friedman went into detail on the subject, but others are convinced that the goal shouldn’t count.
Update: The NHL’s Situation Room Blog provides the following update (bolded by the league, by the way).
Review was not conclusive in determining whether Parise had had tagged up at the instant the puck touched Charlie Coyle‘s stick. According to Rule 78.7, “If a review is not conclusive and/or there is any doubt whatsoever as to whether the call on the ice was correct, the On-Ice Official(s) will be instructed to confirm their original call.”